Oklahoma St. football: Terry Miller on ballot for 2022 CFB Hall of Fame

The College Football Hall of Fame announced today that former Oklahoma State star running back Terry Miller is on the ballot for the 2022 Hall of Fame. Voting will take place from now until June 25, after which an Honors Court will determine which candidates to include in the 2022 class.

Miller, who was a first team All-American at OSU in 1976 and 1977, finished second in the 1977 Heisman Trophy voting to Texas running back Earl Campbell. After leaving the Cowboys, Miller was selected by the Buffalo Bills as the No. 5 overall pick in the 1978 NFL Draft. He played with the Bills for three seasons and the Seahawks for one more before departing the pro football ranks after 1981.

Former Oklahoma St. star running back Terry Miller, the 1977 Heisman Trophy runner-up, is on the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

To this day, Miller is the only OSU running back to produce three 1,000-yard rushing seasons. He is second all-time among Cowboy rushers with 4,754 career rushing yards, surpassed only by Thurman Thomas. The only Cowboys rusher to come within 1,000 yards of this mark in the past two decades is Kendall Hunter, who rushed for 4,181 yards between 2007 and 2010.

The two-time Big Eight Offensive Player of the Year finished his college career as the fourth-leading rusher in NCAA history. Only five players (including Thomas) from current Big 12 schools have rushed for more career rushing yards than Miller. In 1976 and 1977 seasons combined, Miller rushed for 3,394 yards and 37 touchdowns while averaging 5.7 yards per carry.

Led by Miller, the 1976 Cowboys finished as Big 8 Conference co-champions after defeating then-No. 5 Oklahoma, capped by a Citrus Bowl win against BYU. Miller also ended that season receiving the fourth-most votes for the Heisman.

78 players and seven coaches from the FBS level were included on this year’s ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame. One requirement is that all players must be a first team All-American.